Back to top

2017 World Car Awards finalists announced

2 February 2017

The prestigious World Car Awards has announced its finalists for the 2017 award ceremony.

The winners  will be announced during the World Car Awards prize giving at the New York International Auto Show on 13 April.

Last year’s overall winner was the Mazda MX-5 that also took the design award, the Audi R8 took the performance car title, the BMW 7 Series scooped the luxury car award and Toyota Mirai got the green award. For 2017 a new category has been added, namely the Urban Car of the Year.

2017 World Car of the Year finalists:
Audi A5/S5 Coupé
Audi Q2
Audi Q5
Fiat/Abarth 124 Spider
Honda Civic
Jaguar F-Pace
Mazda CX-9
Skoda Kodiaq
Toyota C-HR
Volkswagen Tiguan

2017 World Luxury Car finalists:
Bentley Bentayga
BMW 5 Series
Genesis G90
Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Volvo S90/V90

2017 World Performance Car finalists:
Aston Martin DB11
Audi R8 Spyder
Honda/Acura NSX
McLaren 570S
Porsche Boxster/Cayman

2017 World Green Car finalists:
Chevrolet Bolt
Honda Clarity Fuel-Cell Car
Hyundai Ioniq
Tesla Model X
Toyota Prius Prime

2017 World Urban Car finalists:
BMW i3 (94 Ah)
Citroën C3
Ford KA+
Smart ForTwo Cabrio
Suzuki Ignis

2017 World Car Design finalists:
Audi A5/S5 Coupé
Jaguar F-Pace
Mazda CX-9
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet
Toyota CH-R