2019 AutoTrader South African Car of the Year finalists announced

The finalists for the 2019 South African Car of the Year competition have been announced. The list comprises vehicles from Italy, Japan, Korea, Germany, France and Sweden and, in keeping with the diverse South African automotive landscape, it covers almost every motoring genre.

They are, in alphabetical order:

  1. Alfa Romeo Stelvio
  2. Honda Civic Type R
  3. Hyundai Kona
  4. Lexus ES
  5. Mercedes-Benz A-Class
  6. Mitsubishi Pajero Sport
  7. Nissan Micra
  8. Porsche Cayenne
  9. Renault Duster
  10. Suzuki Jimny
  11. Suzuki Swift
  12. Volvo XC40

The 25 Jurors will be given the opportunity to drive all the finalist vehicles over the next three months under normal driving conditions experienced by the average consumer. The formal AutoTrader Car Of The Year evaluation days that will be held in Gauteng in March 2019 will allow judges the opportunity to reacquaint themselves with the vehicles.

At these evaluation days – the most critical of which will be the scheduled procedures to be held at Kyalami – the COTY Jury will assess the cars independently, with routes and modules designed to test the vehicles on specific criteria. The Jury will also have access to performance test data, comparative pricing and specification data, as well as comparative parts pricing data.

After careful deliberation by the 2019 Jury, Category Winners will be awarded to Premium Sedan (executive and premium sedan), Leisure SUVs (SUVs / crossovers), Lifestyle Utility (bakkies / derived SUVs e.g. Toyota Fortuner), Urban Compact (small hatch and small sedan) and Mid-Size (MPV, medium sedan and hatch) Winners. All of the Top 12 are eligible to be crowned the 2019 AutoTrader South African Car Of The Year regardless of Category Wins. Judging by the tight scores on the Finalists there is little doubt that the scoring to find a winner will be a very close race.