Mini takes top three spots on first day of 2020 Dakar

By now you’ll know that the Toyota Gazoo Racing team had to endure 11 punctured tyres during the first stage of the 2020 Dakar Rally.

That left the door wide open for Mini, which took the top three spots on the first day.

Vaidotas Zala brought his Mini in first and in doing so also won his first ever Dakar stage. Stephane Peterhansel came in second, followed by Carlos Sainz.

In case you needed reminding, this is where the Toyota Gazoo Racing teams placed, with Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mathieu Baumel in fifth place around five minutes behind Vaidotas Zala. Bernhard ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul is in sixth place, while Fernando Alonso/Marc Coma ended in 11th. Giniel de Villiers and Alex Haro are currently in 14th place, around 23 minutes behind the leading Mini.